An Official Website of the Government of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago

Present & Past Presidents

George Maxwell Richards (Present)George Maxwell Richards was born December 1, 1931. He is the fourth President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. A chemical engineer by training, President Richards was Principal of the St. Augustine Campus of the University of the West Indies, Trinidad in 1996. He previously worked for Shell Trinidad Ltd. before joining the University of the West Indies in 1965. He was sworn into office on March 17, 2003 for a five-year term. Richards is the first Head of State in the Anglophone Caribbean of Amerindian ancestry.

Arthur N.R. RobinsonArthur N.R. Robinson succeeded Noor Hassanali as President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and served in office from 1997-2003. He was previously Prime Minister from 1986-1991, during which time he was a member of the National Alliance for Reconstruction. Mr. Robinson was the first active politician to be elected to the Presidency and was the first presidential candidate who was elected unopposed.

Noor HassanaliThe second President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Noor Hassanali (now deceased) served two terms, between 1987 and 1997. He was a retired High Court Judge, the first Indo-Trinidadian to hold the office of President and the first Muslim Head of State in the Americas.

Ellis ClarkeThe second and last Governor-General and the first President of Trinidad and Tobago, Ellis Clarke (now deceased) succeeded Sir Solomon Hochoy as Governor General in 1972. He was unanimously elected as President when Trinidad and Tobago became a Republic in 1976.